Homemade Pseudo-Quest Bars

Excited isn’t the right word to describe how I feel about sharing this recipe. It just doesn’t do it justice. Ecstatic, maybe? Overjoyed? Delighted?

Let’s go with all three. I cannot wait any longer; I have to share.

Who loves Quest bars? Everyone, amiright? They’re gooey, filling, packed with protein (20g per bar), satisfying when you need a chocolate/sweets fill… they’re everything. And they’re also wicked expensive. Ranging anywhere from $2 -$3.00 PER BAR, and $22-$26 per 12-count box, these little bits of protein packing-sweet-but-healthy- treats are not exactly budget friendly. Even if you’re a GNC Gold member (which I highly recommend you become, if you’re a frequent shopper like myself), you still wind up paying upper $1.50/bar with the constant “Buy 3, Get 1 Free” promo that they run. That’s still a lot, but I’ve always been more than willing to cough up the dough for a fix; I live off of these bars, so how can I not? Well, after doing some heavy googling and home research, I found an alternative!

Dum-da-da-duuuuummmm!

I present to you, the Homemade Quest Bar; I like to call it my Pseudo-Quest Bar.

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 10.44.46 AM

Let’s talk about what’s needed to make these bars…

In order to get a consistency similar to that of an actual Quest bar, you need one item, specifically: VitaFiber. This stuff can now be known to you as liquid gold. Packed with fiber, as the name suggests, this stuff is a low-calorie sweetener, pre-biotic (for real, trust me…), and is sugar-free, gluten-free, and non-GMO! Check out this link for more info on VitaFiber.

After the VitaFiber, the other igredient necessary is protein powder. That’s it. Any kind you fancy will work. Whey, Soy, Plant-based, Creatine, Grass-fed, whatever! Just gotta have your protein powder.

Ok, so…VitaFiber and my-choice-of Protein Powder? That’s it? What else will I need??

Any other mix-in that you could dream of. Nuts, chocolate chips, cocoa powder, PB2, dried fruit, coconut flakes, you name it, you can add it! Fancy a cinnamon flavored bar? Add cinnamon! Want a bar with some crunch? Add granola, or chia seeds, or nuts! Get creative! These are all up to your taste-buds to create!

Here’s the need to the know on how much of everything you’ll need:

Pseudo-Quest Bar

Yield: 1 bar

Ingredients

-2 tbsp VitaFiber

-1/4 c Protein Powder

-Any mix-ins (optional)!

Directions: Heat the vitafiber in a pot until boiling/bubbling. Remove from heat (important!) and mix in the protein powder, and optional mix-ins. Mold into whatever shape you’d like and set in a baking dish. Place in refridgerator to cool, and about 1-3hrs later, voila!

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 10.45.06 AMSo simple right?? When it comes to the cost, there is one catch – you have to shell out about $22 for the bottle of VitaFiber (but it can be used for other recipes, like this blogger’s Low-carb Muffins , and however much for the type of protein powder (unless, again, you’re like me, and always have tubs on hand anyways!)…but when you see how little of each it takes to make each bar, you’re still coming out on top! I could do a whole cost breakdown, but let’s be real – math was never my strong point.

You’ll just have to take my word for it 😉

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

